A Coder’s Corner

Blog de tecnologia y programación

Random Ramblings : Religion

Posted by gfaraj on January 30, 2008

Why is everyone so sure about unproven theories? Atheists are completely sure there are no gods; theists are sure that there is a god or gods. In fact, they are so sure, they’re willing to fight and even kill to defend their beliefs.

“Did Sam kill the cat?” I don’t know.  “Does God exist?” I don’t know. Don’t be afraid of not knowing, it’s the only state of mind which will allow you to look for the truth.

But how are you certain that you’re right? “It’s called faith, I feel it in my heart.” Yes, I also have faith that tomorrow I’ll win the lottery, but that doesn’t make it true, nor more probable.

I respect everyone’s right to believe in whatever they please; the problem is that you don’t. Why do you have to push your beliefs onto everyone else? Is it maybe because deep-down inside you’re really not sure about your beliefs and don’t want to be the only one. A lie believed by many becomes truth; or so you might think.

Anyways, I think it’s enough for today.

4 Responses to “Random Ramblings : Religion”

  1. yyeshua said

    Well, the faith its a thing, and the Religion its other. The religion is use for peolpe to controll people. But we can found the truth, in our mind. Somes times the true for one its not tro for other onece. Ig god exist, or not, its not important, the humanity its important. Faith in the human for the human say some time Buddha, hes in the right.

    And… sorry for may english, i bad in this language, but im learning🙂 c-bytes😄

  2. jf said

    Truth is nobody is certain about anything. The only certain thing is we’re all going to eventually die. Question is, is what we’re doing right now really meaningful? If your life were to end suddenly and unexpectedly tomorrow, would you be able to say you’ve been doing what you truly care about today?

    Religion (to me) can sometimes be compared to a drug: it can help if used properly, but more importatly it can cause obsession & poison the mind.

    I HATE when people choose religion over common sense, specially when education is involved (and the ones receiving it get a mediocre take on it).

    Just my two cents.

  3. programmatore…

    […]Random Ramblings : Religion « A Coder’s Corner[…]…

  4. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative
    and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on
    the head. The issue is something not enough men and women are speaking intelligently
    about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something relating to
    this.

Leave a Reply

 
